Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Blog Ring of Power Interview with Kristi Petersen Schoonover

Well Kristi has been on all the power blogs and ends up here at The Write Time.

Kristi Petersen Schoonover's Pushcart-nominated psychological horror novel Bad Apple has been called “deeply disturbing in the best way possible,” by SciFi Saturday Night. Her short fiction has appeared in Carpe Articulum, The Adirondack Review, Barbaric Yawp, The Illuminata, Morpheus Tales, New Witch Magazine, Toasted Cheese, The Smoking Poet, The Battered Suitcase, and a host of others, including several anthologies. She is the recipient of three Norman Mailer Writers Colony Winter Residencies and is an editor for Read Short Fiction ( She lives in the Connecticut woods with her housemate, Charles, three cats--Poe, Mikey, and Kali--and her husband, paranormal investigator and occult specialist Nathan Schoonover of The Ghostman & Demon Hunter Show ( She has a passion for ghost stories, marine life, and Tarot cards and still sleeps with the lights on.

Part 1 - Wednesday, February 27th @ Terri Bruce –
Part 2 - Thursday, February 28th @ T.W. Fendley -
Part 3 - Friday, March 1st @ Emily LaBonte -
Part 4 Monday, March 4th @ Sandra Ulbrich Almazon -

Why did you decide to go with an indie publisher? Did you use/do you have an agent?
Small houses have passion, quality, and the love of fresh stories at the hearts of their business models, and they’re willing to take risks. That’s where I want to be.

What are the most important elements of good writing?
I could go on and on about all the obvious things like solid characterization, grammar and the like—and all of those things are important, but they’re givens. To me, the most important element of good writing is perfected single effect.

What tools are must-haves for writers?
Perseverance, a thirst for improvement, focus, and the willingness to put your writing ahead of everything else in your life.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Yes: thank you for being so loyal!

What are your current / future project(s)?
I don’t talk about anything I’m working on until it’s hammered out in first draft form, because I’ve always believed that as long as it’s unspoken, it maintains its energy so I can finish it. Talking about it seems to almost guarantee I’ll lose interest or I’ll forget what I was trying to do—I compare it to letting the air out of a balloon. I will say, though, that on a personal level, 2013 is the year of less and more—I’m bowing out of many things I was doing, among them Scary Scribes, because I just want to go back to the glory days in which my writing career was only writing and critiquing and not doing all this extraneous stuff for the sake of getting my name out there; all of that is really impeding practicing my craft.

After an unfortunate incident on a Maine apple orchard, precocious teen Scree is left with a father she’s not sure is hers, a never-ending list of chores and her flaky brother’s baby. In a noble move to save the child from an existence like her own, Scree flees to a glitzy resort teeming with young men just ripe for the picking. But even as life with baby becomes all she’d dreamed, Dali-esque visions begin to leach through the gold paint…

Fans of The Haunting of Hill House, The Lovely Bones, and Carrie shouldn't miss Bad Apple--a dark, surreal ride that proves not all things in an orchard are safe to pick.

Please let us know where your readers can stalk you:
Facebook page:
Goodreads author page:
Twitter: @KPSchoonover

What format is your book(s) available in (print, e-book, audio book, etc.)?
Bad Apple is available in all formats, both print and e-book, and is available wherever you purchase your books.

No comments: